Today, I finish…

Today, I finished my dissertation.  All the proofreading, the editing, the revising. All the prefatory materials, the signature pages, the tables and figures. It’s all done.

Well, done until I defend and my committee says, “great job! but here are some changes we would like to see,” or when I start turning it into a full-fledged book.

I posted some stats on Facebook, but thought I would include them here, too–less likely to disappear into the ether.

Chapters: 6 (including intro)

Pages: 303 (including 23 of works cited, and 8 of prefatory material)

Words: 81,403 (including 12,195 of notes)

Notes: 391 (CMS style, but I used parenthetical citation for most of my primary texts)

Days from start to completion: 2346 (6 years, 5 months) or 968 (2 years, 7 months, 26 days), depending on whether you count from the first time I wrote anything that would end up in the diss, or from when I first started working on my prospectus.

To celebrate, my roommate and I cooked a massive dinner and went out to Cold Stone for ice cream afterwards.  And in less than 12 hours, I start teaching again.  I guess I got the dissertation done just in time!

3 comments on “Today, I finish…

  1. Marcy says:

    Congratulations! Seems like an understatement, but… yes. Congratulations.

  2. amstr says:

    Well done! Congratulations on finishing. It gives me hope that it’s actually possible–I’m hoping my day comes soon. Best wishes on the teaching and the defense. May the requested changes be minimal.

Leave a Reply

